Hi, How Can We Help You?

Mesa DUI Lawyer – Defense Strategies for DUI in Mesa, AZ

Arrested in Arizona? Call Today for Help!

Have you recently been charged with a DWI or DUI in Mesa, AZ? If so, it is imperative that you hire an experienced Mesa DUI lawyer to help you mitigate the damages that can occur if you are found guilty.  Check out our Top 5 DUI Defenses for beating a Mesa DUI.

Watch this video of DM Cantor, ranked a “best DUI lawyer in Mesa, AZ“, talk about what to do or expect when charged with a DUI in Mesa.

David Michael Cantor and his staff have over 3,000 DUI case victories and years of experience representing clients in the Mesa Municipal Court (also known as the Mesa City Court).

Arizona has some of the strictest DUI laws in the United States. The state has categorized DUIs into five separate categories:

  • DUI Impaired to the slightest degree: This type of DUI can be charged even if your BAC is below a .08. The evidence typically used for this charge is the person’s behavior and performance on the field sobriety tests.
  • Regular DUI: This type of DUI includes anyone that has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of an .08 to under a .15. This is the most common type of DUI and is a criminal misdemeanor offense.
  • Extreme DUI: Anyone whose BAC registers between a .15 and a .199 will be charged with an Extreme DUI. While still classified as a misdemeanor, this charge has more severe penalties attached, especially if there are prior convictions for DUI.
  • Super Extreme DUI: As of 2007, anyone who has a BAC of over a .20 will be charged with a Super Extreme DUI. This carries serious DUI penalties, especially if there are prior convictions for DUI.
  • Aggravated DUI: Aggravated DUI is a felony charge and will require prison time if convicted. You can be charged with a felony DUI, regardless of BAC if:
    • You are caught driving on a suspended or revoked license.
    • Have been convicted of two previous DUI’s in the last 7 years, regardless of what state the DUI occurred in.
    • Are convicted of a DUI and there was a person age 15 or under in the vehicle at the time of the arrest.
    • If you have been charged with any of these types of DUI, it will be in your best interest to consult a Mesa DUI attorney about your defense.
    • Are caught driving a vehicle while under the influence, without an ignition interlock device and are required to have one installed.

Board Certified Criminal Law Specialization

As of the start of 2021, the State Bar of Arizona Board of Legal Specialization listed only 68 Criminal Law Specialists in the entire state.  Of these 68, only 46 are located in Maricopa County and are allowed to handle private cases.  DM Cantor has 3 Criminal Law Specialists, the most of any firm in Arizona.  When defending DUI allegations, it is critical to have as many Specialists on your legal team as is possible.

The specialization process is so rigorous that only 34 current Criminal Law Specialists were certified in the last 21 years.  In addition, all specialists must be approved for re-certification every 5 years.  At DM Cantor, our Specialists have conducted Jury Trials on countless DUI and Vehicular crime cases.

Every case defended by DM Cantor includes at least 1 Board Certified Criminal Law Specialist on the legal team who is directly handling or supervising the case’s progress.

We wouldn’t have it any other way.

Penalties for A DUI in Mesa, Arizona

All DUI convictions have penalties attached to them, with each requiring a minimum jail sentence and fines. All convictions require the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) and some convictions may also require drug and alcohol counseling.

First Offense Misdemeanor DUI (.08 – .149 BAC)

  • Ten days in jail
  • Loss of driver’s license for 90 Days
  • Ignition Interlock for one year
  • Alcohol screening and classes
  • Fees and Fines in excess of $1,500

First Offense Extreme DUI / DWI (.15 – .199 BAC)

  • Thirty days in jail
  • Loss of  driver’s license for 90 days
  • Ignition interlock for one year
  • Alcohol screening and classes
  • Fees and fines in excess of $2,700

First Offense Super Extreme DUI / DWI (.20+ BAC)

  • Forty five days in jail
  • Loss of driver’s license for 90 days
  • Ignition interlock for 18 months
  • Alcohol screening and classes
  • Fines and fees in excess of $3,200

First Offense Aggravated Felony DUI (third DUI in seven years; DUI with a suspended license or a DUI with a child under the age of 15 in the vehicle)

  • Loss of civil rights including the right to vote and the right to bear arms
  • Minimum of four months in prison (for a third DUI in seven years or a DUI with a suspended license)
  • Ignition interlock for two year
  • Alcohol assessment and classes

These penalties increase with subsequent arrests or if the charges are for extreme, super extreme, or felony DUI. Your Mesa DUI attorney will discuss the exact penalties associated with the charges that are placed against you.

If you have been arrested for driving under the influence in Mesa, contact us today.

Why Hire a Mesa DUI Defense Lawyer?

Mesa DUI LawyerMany people believe that they should represent themselves in court for a DUI charge because their charge may only be a misdemeanor. While it is perfectly legal to do so, this is not too wise. The court will require you to follow all of the same rules and regulations of an attorney, and will assume that you are aware of all the different and current legal defenses for this type of charge.

An experienced Mesa DUI attorney, like the ones at the DM Cantor, are knowledgeable about the many different defenses that can be used in a DUI case. Each of these attorneys are actively involved in this area of law and remain current with the issues surrounding DUI charges.

Although hiring an attorney does not guarantee that all of the charges will be dropped against you, it definitely increases the chance of having the charges reduced or dropped.

A DUI conviction can change your life. You will face financial hardships from the fines, loss of your driving privileges, and a significant increase in your insurance costs. A conviction can also cause issues with your employer if you are required to drive for work.

If you have a pending driving under the influence charge in Mesa, please call our offices at (602) 307-0808 to schedule a free consultation. You may also use our secure online contact form to set up a consultation.The consultation will take about 30 minutes and we’ll ask you questions specific to your case. One of our DUI lawyers is on call 24-hours a day to take your call should you be pulled over or find yourself in a DUI sting.

Check out the other DUI courts in various cities that make up the Phoenix Metro area:

Mesa Municipal Court Information

Have you been charged and need to appear at the Mesa Municipal Court? Find out what to expect by watching this short video featuring Mesa DUI Attorney, David Michael Cantor.

For more details regarding the Mesa Court, including hours of operation and address, please visit the Mesa Municipal Court’s website.

Call Now Button