Hi, How Can We Help You?

Tag Archives: extreme dui

A 2nd Offense Misdemeanor Extreme DUI in Arizona is any DUI in which the blood alcohol level content is .150+ to .199. It is a second offense Extreme DUI if the individual has a prior DUI offense of any kind within the last seven years, and the current DUI is extreme. The individual does not necessarily need to have a prior extreme to have a 2nd offense extreme, as the prior DUI can be any DUI within 7 years time.

Are you looking for the punishments for a First Extreme DUI or Third Extreme DUI in Arizona?

Here is a short video of David explaining the punishment for a Second Offense Extreme DUI in Arizona:

If convicted of a 2nd Offense Misdemeanor Extreme DUI in Arizona, there are various punishments and fines. The individual will be required to serve 120 days of jail time and pay related costs, fines and surcharges of $16,000. The individual will also be required to undergo substance abuse screening for alcohol classes at a rate of $100, complete 36 of these classes for $1,000, and complete 30 hours of community service. Furthermore, the individual’s license will be suspended for a full year. At the completion of that year, a certified ignition interlock device is required to be added to the individual’s vehicle for 18 months, which will cost approximately $1,500. The driver must blow into this device in order to start the vehicle (it is hooked to the steering wheel), and then again every 15 minutes to keep the car running. Every 90 days, the individual must enter a specialized area to download the chip from the interlock device to prove that they have not been driving with alcohol in their system.

If convicted of a 2nd Offense Misdemeanor Extreme DUI in Arizona, there are also major insurance and career ramifications. A special ‘SR-22’ provision must be added to the individual’s insurance for $500 a year for three years ($1,500), which requires the insurance company to inform the DMV if the insurance lapses. In addition, your car insurance will increase $3,000 a year higher than their current rate for the next three years for a total of $9,000. If the individual has a commercial driver’s license, this will be revoked. If you have a career as a doctor, nurse, lawyer, teacher, etc., you will likely be fired or suspended because of this DUI conviction.

Let’s review the penalties associated with a 2nd Offense Misdemeanor Extreme DUI in Arizona:

• 120 days of jail time
• Jail costs, fines and surcharges: $16,100
• Substance abuse screening for alcohol classes: $100
• 36 hours of alcohol classes for: $1,000
• 30 hours of community service
• Suspended license for a full year
• Ignition interlock device for 18 months at a cost of: $1,500
• Additional ‘SR-22’ insurance provision for $500 per year for 3 years: $1,500
• Additional insurance premium costs of $3,000 for 3 years: $9,000

 If you choose to drive legally once your driver’s license is reinstated, the total cost is approximately: $29,500

In the State of Arizona, a conviction for a second offense Extreme DUI is a very serious situation. Our firm has had great results in defending these types of DUI cases. If you or a loved one has been suspected of a second offense DUI in Arizona, please call (or email) our offices at (602) 307-0808 to schedule a free case consultation.

An extreme DUI is any time when your blood alcohol content is .150+ to .199. A third offense means you have two prior DUI convictions within the previous seven years, and those other DUIs do not have to be extreme DUIs; they can be any DUI conviction within the past seven years.

Looking for the penalties for 1st Offense Extreme Misdemeanor or 2nd Offense Extreme Misdemeanor?

Watch as David Cantor explains the punishments for a 3rd Offense Extreme DUI in Arizona:

Technically, if you get your third DUI in seven years of any type it can be charged as a felony, or an aggravated DUI. The consequences can mean four months in prison as well as many other consequences. Occasionally, cities will charge you with a misdemeanor DUI and keep it in the city court system. If they do keep it in the city system, then the standard offer will be six months in jail (not prison), which allows you to obtain a work release for 12 hours, six days a week. The city may keep it in their misdemeanor jurisdiction because there is a proof problem with one or both of your previous DUIs. For example, there may be an out-of-state prior, and many times there are no fingerprints taken at the time you plea; there may be no attorney waiver in the file; or there may be no guilty plea proceeding form on the record. That means in order to prove the prior many times they would have to fly someone in from out of state, to make the prior admissible. That’s why it is important to get an attorney who knows how to challenge and attack prior convictions.

If you are convicted of a third offense misdemeanor extreme DUI, you will be sentenced to 180 days in jail, and the jail time will cost you $18,500. The fines associated with a 3rd Offense Extreme DUI will be approximately $3,700. Just the fine and jail costs alone will be more than $20,000. There are other repercussions as well – your commercial driver’s license will be gone. If you are a healthcare provider, legal professional, real estate agent, hold an SEC license, or work with the government or military, you will probably be suspended or fired depending upon your occupation. You will also have to attend 36 substance abuse classes ($1,00), install an ignition interlock device for at least two years ($3,000), and have your license suspended for at least one year.

[button color=red url=/contact-us/ target=self]Get a Free DUI Case Review, Click Here.[/button]

If you choose to drive once you get your license back, your car insurance will go up $3,000 per year for the next three years ($9,000) and you’ll have to maintain an SR-22 policy on your car as well which is $500 per year for three years ($1,500). Go to our website at DMCantor.com and visit the Victory section – you’ll see how many extreme DUIs and second- and third-offense extreme DUIs we have beaten. Many times we are able to eliminate the prior DUIs, and then the 3rd Offense Extreme DUI charge can be reduced to a first offense. That drops the jail term from 180 days to 30. If reduced to a first offense regular DUI, then this also means one day in jail which will drop the costs from over $22,000 to just $4,100.

Let’s review the punishment for a 3rd Offense Extreme DUI in Arizona:

  • 180 days in prison, with no work release available
  • $18,500 In Jail Costs
  • $3,000 in Fines
  • $1,500 for SR-22 Policy for three years
  • $3,000 annual insurance increase for the next three years
  • License suspension for at least one year

It’s important to hire a DUI defense attorney who knows what he is doing. Visit DMCantor.com and you can see our qualifications Please fill out a contact form to set-up a free initial office consultation. You can also call us (602) 307-0808 to schedule an appointment. If this applies to you, a loved one or a family member, give us a call – we would love to help you out.

In the State of Arizona any DUI with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .150 to .199 is an Extreme DUI (A.R.S. §28-1382). The Extreme DUI charge will be considered a first offense, assuming you don’t have any prior DUI convictions in the last 7 years.

Are you looking for something different? Here are the links for 2nd Offense Extreme DUI and 3rd Offense Extreme DUI in Arizona.

Here’s a short video of David explaining the punishments for 1st Offense Extreme DUI in Arizona:

The consequences of a First Offense Extreme DUI is 30 days in jail, although 21 days can be suspended if you install an ignition interlock device. If not, the 30 days in jail will cost you $2,500. The fines and surcharges are $2,787, and the screening for substance abuse classes is $50. The court can give you between 16 and 36 hours, but it is almost always 36 hours, and the costs are $585. You will also lose your license for a minimum of three months, and when your license is reinstated you will need to get an ignition interlock device if you haven’t already, which you have to blow into every time you start your car and every fifteen minutes thereafter. That costs $1,000 to $1,200, and you have to take the device in every 90 days so the data can be downloaded and analyzed to ensure you have not been driving with alcohol in your system.

You will also need to maintain an SR-22 insurance policy, which is a special type of high-risk insurance where the insurance company contacts the DMV should your insurance lapse at any time. The SR-22 insurance costs $500 per year, and you need to maintain it for three years, totaling $1,500. In addition to that, your insurance will go up $3,000 per year for the next three year – that’s another $9,000.

After receiving a First Offense Extreme DUI if you simply avoid driving and take public transportation, you will still have to pay $7,500 to the government and state agencies. If you decide to continue to drive once your license has been reinstated, you will have to pay a total of approximately $17,622 over three years.

If you have a CDL, or commercial driver’s license, you’ll lose it. If you’re a doctor, nurse, pilot, lawyer, have a real estate license, an SEC license, government, military – it’s going to affect your job, especially if you do outside sales. For insight into how DM Cantor can help you, browse the victory section on our website, DMCantor.com, to see how our firm gets cases dismissed completely or reduced from an extreme DUI to a regular DUI, which saves thousands of dollars and 29 days in jail. In some cases, extreme DUIs can be reduced to reckless driving, which requires just a fine.

Hiring a lawyer to defend a First Offense Extreme DUI charge is crucial, because you don’t want to end up subjected to this harsh punishment:

  • 30 days in jail: $3,400
  • DUI Fines: approximately $3,300
  • Requirement to install an ignition interlock system: $1,500
  • Alcohol Screening: $100
  • Up to 36 hours of alcohol education classes: $1,000
  • SR-22 Policy $500 per year: $1,500
  • Increase Car Insurance Premiums $3,000 per year: $9,000

If you choose to legally drive after a conviction for a First Offense Misdemeanor Extreme DUI then you are looking at approximately $19,800 in costs associated with the sentence.

If you are faced with these circumstances please give our office a call at (602) 307-0808 to get a Free Case Review. We’re also available 24 hours a day via answering service or by using our secure web form.

April 2, 2013

In Arizona, the maximum blood alcohol concentration (BAC) that is legally allowed while driving or operating a motor vehicle is 0.08 percent. Any violation of this law is a criminal offense and could result in a driving under the influence (DUI) conviction. The penalties for a DUI conviction will usually be based on the BAC level of the offender. Arizona law lists the qualifications and penalties for a DUI, an Extreme DUI, and a Super Extreme DUI.

What are the qualifications for an Extreme DUI?

Pursuant to §28-1382 of the Arizona Revised Statutes, an Extreme DUI charge requires a BAC of 0.15 percent or above within two hours after driving a motor vehicle. Meanwhile, a BAC of 0.20 percent or above qualifies as a Super Extreme DUI charge in Arizona. To violate the law, the blood alcohol concentration must result from alcohol that has been consumed either before or while actually driving the vehicle.

What are the penalties for a first-time Extreme DUI?

A first-time Extreme DUI violation is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor. It will result in at least 30 consecutive days in jail or a maximum of six months. All offenders are required to pay a minimum fine of $250 plus certain financial penalties. Additionally, the individual will have his or her driving license suspended for 90 days. After 30 days, an individual who meets certain eligibility requirements will be allowed to receive limited driving privileges. Then, at the end of the 90 days, the court might require that an ignition interlock device be placed on the person’s vehicle for at least one year.

What are the penalties for a second- time Extreme DUI?

The penalties for an Extreme DUI are increased for anyone who has a prior DUI conviction within the previous seven years. The minimum jail time, for example, is 120 days. Additionally, the offender is required to pay a minimum fine of $500 plus additional financial penalties. A person convicted of a second-offense Extreme DUI will have his or her driving license suspended for at least one year and will not be eligible to receive any temporary driving privileges. An ignition interlock device will be placed on the person’s vehicle at the end of the one year period.

The penalties for a Super Extreme DUI include at least 45 consecutive days in jail and a minimum fine of $500. Anyone who is convicted of either an Extreme DUI or a Super Extreme DUI might be required to undergo substance abuse counseling.

Please contact our offices if you or someone you know has an Extreme DUI charge in Arizona. To schedule a free consultation with a DUI Attorney, please call our offices 24 hours a day at (602) 307-0808. You can also email us through our secure and confidential email form.

Call Now Button