Click Here for Free Consultation

Extreme DUI & Super Extreme DUI in Arizona: Laws and Penalties

Do you have an Extreme DUI / DWI or Super Extreme DUI / DWI in Arizona? Was your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) a 0.15% or higher?

If so, you are facing a minimum of 30 days in jail and a minimum $2,500 fine. Read the rest of this page to learn more about Arizona Extreme DUI Laws and Penalties then call us for a Free Consultation.

Extreme DUI Charges .15 – .199 BACSuper Extreme DUI Charges .20 BAC or GreaterPenalties for Extreme & Super Extreme DUIPossible Defenses for DUI

David explains what is an Extreme DUI charge in Arizona:

View video transcript: What is an Extreme DUI

People ask, “what is an Extreme DUI in Arizona?” Well Extreme DUI by statute is if you get any DUI while your blood alcohol concentration is a .15 or higher. Now a Super Extreme is a .20 or higher.  What does that mean?  Well for first offense you’re looking at forty-five days in jail if you’re super extreme and that’s the minimum, and a regular extreme, you’re looking at thirty days in jail.

Now anything below that, you’re looking at a day in jail as a possible minimum penalty. With all of these (penalties) it can be as high as six months in jail. If you have a second offense super extreme DUI, the minimum and the maximum are the same. It’s 180 days in jail.

If you have a second offense extreme DUI, that means you have any prior DUI, even if it’s regular, but now your next DUI within 7 years is a .15 BAC or higher, now you’re looking at 4 months in jail. If you have a second offense DUI, that’s not a super extreme, then you’re looking at 30 days in jail,

Which is why it’s that important if we can reduce the super extreme or extreme to a regular second offense DUI, it drops down to 30 days in jail, which is obviously a lot less. You can do work release so you don’t miss work or things of that nature. If this is you, contact us and see what we can do for you.

If you had a BAC of less than 0.15% read more about Regular DUI in Arizona. If you are being charged with a Felony DUI, then you need to read more about Aggravated DUI in Arizona. If you would like information on why you should hire an attorney to fight for you, visit our Arizona DUI Lawyer page.


The Difference Between Extreme and Super Extreme DUI / DWI

In Arizona, Extreme DUI / DWI and Super Extreme DUI / DWI carry more severe penalties than a Regular DUI (Learn about Regular DUI Laws and Penalties).

Arizona usually files two or three charges against you:

  • EXTREME DUI / DWI (A.R.S. §28-1382) Driving with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.15% or greater within two hours of driving.
  • SUPER EXTREME DUI / DWI (A.R.S. §28-1382(D)(1)) Driving with a Blood Alcohol Concentration of 0.20% or greater within two hours of driving.
  • The Extreme DUI / DWI charge is the same as the DUI charge except it requires the BAC to be .15% or greater
  • The punishment is 10 times more jail time than a regular first offense DUI
  • The Super Extreme DUI / DWI charge requires the BAC to be .20% or greater
  • The punishment for Super Extreme DUI / DWI is 45 times more jail time than a regular first offense DUI. This is true even if it is your first DUI offense ever!

Free Consultation with a DUI Lawyer


Possible Punishment/Penalties for Extreme and Super Extreme DUI / DWI

Below are videos that explain the possible punishments for extreme DUI / DWI and super extreme DUI / DWI charges.

First Offense Extreme DUI / DWI – (.15% and above BAC):

  • First offense mandatory minimum 30 days jail and no days can be suspended* (this means you must serve all 30 days in jail – day for day)
  • Pay a $2,500.00 fine
  • Must attend alcohol classes
  • One (1) year of an IID being attached to your steering wheel after all license suspensions are completed (at a cost of $1,500)*#.
    Once you start your car, you must then continue to blow into the device every 15 minutes to keep your car’s ignition on!
  • Lastly, a judge may order a person convicted to consume alcohol for a period of thirty days or more by requiring them to wear a continuous alcohol monitoring device on their ankle, or blowing twice daily into a telephonic breath testing device.
  • The court, in its discretion, may also extend this period of continuous alcohol monitoring.
    Click the following link for more information on a First Offense Extreme DUI / DWI in Arizona.


First Offense Super Extreme DUI / DWI – (.20% and above BAC)

  • First offense mandatory minimum 45 days in jail and no days can be suspended*. This means you must serve all 45 days in jail-day-for-day!
  • You will also receive a $2,750.00 fine
  • Must attend alcohol classes (presumably at least 36)
  • Eighteen (18) months of an IID being attached to your steering wheel after all suspensions are completed at a cost of over $2,000.00.
  • Lastly, the judge can order you to not consume alcohol for a period of ninety (90) days or more and require you to wear a continuous alcohol monitoring device on your ankle, or blow into a telephonic breath testing device twice a day. To learn more about the First Offense Super Extreme DUI penalties, click here.

Second Offense Extreme DWI / DUI– (.15% and above BAC with a prior DUI conviction within seven (7) years from this offense):

  • Mandatory minimum one hundred and twenty (120) days jail and no days can be suspended
  • Fine of approximately $3,250.00 fine
  • Must attend alcohol classes
  • 30 hours of community service
  • One (1) year of license revocation
  • Eighteen (18) months of a mandatory IID being attached to your steering wheel after all suspensions completed at a cost of $2,000.00.

Click the following link for more information about a Second Offense Extreme DWI / DWI in Arizona.


Second Offense Super Extreme DUI / DWI – (.20% and above BAC with any prior DUI conviction within seven (7) years from this offense):

  • Mandatory minimum one-hundred eighty (180) days jail and no days can be suspended
  • Fine of approximately $3,750.00
  • Alcohol classes (at least 36 hours)
  • One (1) year of license revocation
  • 30 hours of community service
  • Two (2) years of an IID attached to your steering wheel after all suspensions are completed at a cost of $3,000.

To read more about a 2nd Offense Super Extreme DUI / DWI in Arizona, click here.


Third Offense Misdemeanor DUI:

The prosecutor has the option of charging a third offense misdemeanor as a first offense felony, Aggravated DUI / DWI. . . and they usually do! Also be sure to read about Arizona Aggravated DUI Laws and Penalties. There are a couple of circumstances where you can be charged with a 3rd Offense Extreme DUI / DWI, click here to find out more.

If you’ve been suspected of a Phoenix Extreme DUI then we suggest you read the rest of this document to learn about Arizona Extreme DUI Laws and Penalties and then call us for a Free Consultation at 602-307-0808. If you were arrested in Scottsdale, click here to find out what a Scottsdale DUI Lawyer can mean for your case.


How helpful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating
/ 5. Vote count:


We are sorry that this post was not helpful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Request a Free Consultation

Fill out the form below to receive a free and confidential initial consultation.

Click here for important legal disclaimer.

CURRENT/PAST ASSOCIATIONS & AWARDS


10.0 Superb Rating AVVO Criminal Defense

10.0 Superb Rating
AVVO Criminal Defense

AV-Highest Rated Preeminent Lawyers Martindale-Hubbell

AV-Highest Rated Preeminent Lawyers
Martindale-Hubbell

Nation's Top 1% Attorney National Association of Distinguished Counsel

Nation's Top 1% Attorney
National Association of Distinguished Counsel

Super Lawyer Criminal & DUI Defense

Super Lawyer
Criminal & DUI Defense

Top 100 Trial Lawyers (Criminal Defense) American Trial Lawyers Association

Top 100 Trial Lawyers
(Criminal Defense)

American Trial Lawyers Association

Client Satisfaction Award American Institute of DUI / DWI Attorneys

Client Satisfaction Award
American Institute of DUI / DWI Attorneys

Top 100 Lawyer American Society of Legal Advocates

Top 100 Lawyer
American Society of Legal Advocates

Top 10 DUI/DWI Law Firm American Institute of DUI / DWI Attorneys

Top 10 DUI/DWI Law Firm
American Institute of DUI / DWI Attorneys

Member National College for DUI Defense

Member
National College for DUI Defense

Top 10 Attorney National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys

Top 10 Attorney
National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys

Charter Member Trial Masters

Charter Member
Trial Masters

Member DUI Defense Lawyers Association

Member
DUI Defense Lawyers Association

Lifetime Charter Member Best Attorneys of America

Lifetime Charter Member
Best Attorneys of America

Member American Bar Foundation

Member
American Bar Foundation

Sustaining Member Arizona Trial Lawyers Association

Sustaining Member
Arizona Trial Lawyers Association

Member American Association for Justice

Member
American Association for Justice

Life Member Arizona Attorneys for Criminal Justice

Life Member
Arizona Attorneys for Criminal Justice

Superior DUI Attorney National Advocacy for DUI Defense

Superior DUI Attorney
National Advocacy for DUI Defense

Member Since 1989 American Bar Association

Member Since 1989
American Bar Association

Better Business Bureau A+ Rating

Better Business Bureau
A+ Rating

DM Cantor

Call 24/7 602-307-0808

40 N Central Ave, Ste 2300
Phoenix, AZ 85004
Click here for Directions

For Family Law questions please go to Cantor Law Group.
Call Now Button
[contact-form-7 id="34943" title="Exit Intent"]