Surprise, Arizona is a rapidly growing town in the “West Valley” of Phoenix. Home to the White Tank Mountains, Wildlife World Zoo, multiple baseball stadiums, and of course great places to have a drink, there is always the unfortunate possibility of being pulled over for a DUI in Surprise, AZ. If you do find yourself with a charge of driving under the influence, there are some important facts you need to know. Each experienced Surprise DUI Attorney at the Law Offices of David Michael Cantor can help you to make the best of a bad situation and avoid the most egregious penalties, particularly if this is your first offense.
What can happen on your First DUI in Surprise AZ?
As noted above, the State of Arizona is tough on you from the moment of your very first DUI offense. You are sure to spend some time in the local jail, from a minimum of 24 hours to up to 10 days in total. The very least you can be fined is $1,250 and you face a license suspension for a period of 90 days at the least, up to one year.
In addition, you’ will have to install an IID (Ignition Interlock Device). This is the infamous “blow into” device that will immediately prevent your vehicle from starting if even the slightest hint of alcohol is detected on your breath.
Arizona has a Zero Tolerance Policy for DUI Offenses
You should be aware that the State of Arizona has enacted some very tough laws that pertain to people who are caught driving under the influence. In fact, you can basically describe it as a zero strikes policy. So, whether you’re caught with a DUI on your way back from one of the many bars on Bell Road, or observing spring training exercises, one thing is certain: it is a lot more costly to pay for the DUI Fines and Fees than it is to just call a cab.
Do you have 30 minutes to speak 1-on-1 with a lawyer about your case?
Speak with a Surprise DUI Attorney
– Click Here to Schedule –
What can happen on your Second DUI Arrest?
If you’re caught driving under the influence of alcohol for a second time, the penalties will increase to a suitably menacing level. This time around, you can spend anywhere from 30 to 90 days in jail, with much heftier fines. You can also lose your license for a year, and the Ignition Interlock Device will be installed on your vehicle to serve as a constant reminder.
What can happen on your Third DUI Arrest?
A third offense regular driving under the influence (DUI) charge in Arizona is any DUI where the blood alcohol level is .149 or less (or DUI drugs) and it is the third offense within seven years. The term is actually a misnomer because technically, a third offense in seven years is charged as a first offense felony (an aggravated DUI) in which the mandatory minimum punishment is four months in prison.
An Aggravated DUI Offense is far more serious than a Misdemeanor DUI as it could result in a felony conviction on your record for the rest of your life.
How much Blood Alcohol Content puts you over the limit in Surprise Arizona?
The amount of blood alcohol that puts you over the limit in the state of Arizona will depend upon a number of factors:
- If you are under the age of 21, there’s a zero tolerance policy in effect
- If you are over the age of 21, a Regular DUI (ARS 28-1381) is between .08 and .149 BAC
- An Extreme DUI / DWI (ARS 28-1382) is between .15 and .199 BAC (ARS 28-1382)
- A Super Extreme DUI / DWI (ARS 28-1382 (D)(1))is anything .20 BAC and above (ARS 28-1382(D)(1))
- If you are driving a commercial vehicle, the BAC limit is .04.
Do you have 30 minutes to speak 1-on-1 with an attorney about your charge?
Speak with a Surprise DUI Lawyer
– Click Here to Schedule –
Can you refuse to take a Chemical Test in Arizona?
In the State of Arizona, driving is a privilege and not a right. If you refuse to comply with providing a chemical test, you face a mandatory one year license suspension. If you are unsure what to do, speak with an experienced DUI Attorney in Surprise as soon as possible.
What can a Surprise DUI Attorney do for you in this situation?
If you are facing a DUI charge, now is the time to contact the Law Offices of David Michael Cantor by calling (602) 307-0808 or filling out our Secure Contact Form below. We can arrange an initial consultation for you, during which we will go over the details of the case and explain to you exactly what your options are. While the DUI laws are very tough in the state of Arizona, there is no reason for you to give up all hope and throw yourself on the mercy of the court. An experienced and professional Surprise DUI attorney can help you get through this troubled time and reclaim your life.