Have you been suspected or charged with DUI/DWI in Mesa, AZ? If you are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol in Mesa, AZ, you can expect a significant punishment, regardless of the level of the offense (Misdemeanor or Felony). Individuals convicted of a first offense for driving under the influence (DUI) will receive, jail time, a substantial fine, and lifelong consequences. It is imperative that you hire a Mesa DUI lawyer or attorney to help mitigate the damage done by a DUI charge or conviction.
Arizona has increased drinking and driving penalties in the past two decades, and they now take this charge very seriously because it occurs all too often. The State of Arizona has set the blood alcohol content level for presumption of impairment at .08, however, the state can still charge you with being impaired for the slightest degree even if your BAC is below .08.
There are many reasons to hire a Mesa DUI Lawyer, but chiefly among them is that an experienced Mesa DUI lawyer can help ensure that the defendant receives the best possible defense for their DUI charges. David Michael Cantor and his staff have over 1,600 DUI case victories and have years of experience representing clients in the Mesa Municipal Court. As stated before, the penalties for a DUI conviction in Mesa (or anywhere in Arizona) are very harsh. You can contact one of our DUI Lawyers 24 hours a day by calling (602) 307-0808.
Here is a snapshot of the DUI charges in Mesa for a first offense DUI:
First Offense Misdemeanor DUI/DWI (.08 – .149 BAC)
- 10 Days Jail, Lose Driver’s License for 90 Days, Ignition Interlock for 1 year, Alcohol Screening and Classes, Fees and Fines over $1,500
First Offense Extreme DUI (.15 – .199 BAC)
- 30 Days in Jail, Lose Driver’s License for 90 days, Ignition Interlock for 1 year, Alcohol Screening and Classes, Fees and Fines over $2,700
First Offense Super Extreme DUI (.20+ BAC)
- 45 Days in Jail, Lose Driver’s License for 90 days, Ignition Interlock for 18 months, Alcohol Screening and Classes, Fines and Fees over $3,200
If you have been charges with an Aggravated (Felony) DUI for an arrest out of the City of Mesa, you face the following potential sentence for a first time Aggravated DUI:
First Offense Aggravated DUI (3rd DUI in 7 Years, DUI when License is Suspended, & a DUI with a child under 15 years old in the Car)
A Felony Conviction = Loss of Civil Rights (Right to Vote & Bear Arms), minimum of 4 Months in Prison (for a 3rd DUI in 7 years or a DUI with a suspended license), Revocation of Driver’s License, Ignition Interlock for 2 years, Alcohol Assessment and Classes.
About the Mesa Municipal Court: Judges and Location
The Mesa Municipal Court is led by Presiding City Magistrate J. Matias and Commissioner Richard Garcia. Commissioner Garcia handles all civil traffic offenses. The remainder of court operations is provided by a team of judges. The court consists of six judges, including Judge Robin Allen, Judge Valerye Boyer-Wells, and Judge Michelle Lue Sang. The remaining members of the municipal court system are Judge Victor Ortiz, Judge Karl Eppich, and Judge Elizabeth Arriola. Here is a short video of Mesa DUI Attorney, David Michael Cantor explaining what to expect at the Mesa Municipal Court and also a short review of the judges you might see:
Location and Hours of the Mesa Municipal Court
For details regarding the Mesa Court, including hours of operation and address, please see their website: Mesa Municipal Court.
Why Hire a Mesa DUI Defense Lawyer?
People ask us all the time, why should I hire a Mesa DUI Defense lawyer? Well, are you ready for the years of penalties and fines that come with a conviction for a DUI in Mesa? If you facing a conviction for driving under the influence you should seriously consider hiring an effective DUI defense attorney for your case. Having a Mesa DUI attorney who knows the judges and has experience in the Mesa Municipal Court will provide you the best possible opportunity to present DUI defense tactics that work and it will help to resolve your case quickly. The penalties for a first conviction are still significant, and an initial charge is possibly the most important to fight because it sets the stage for any subsequent charges. An intoxicated driving charge based on borderline blood alcohol content levels can be negotiated much easier than a second or third offense, depending on the circumstances. Our DUI defense team has over 1,600 documented DUI victories in Arizona and has been successful in litigation of DUI cases in Mesa Municipal Court. We’d really like to hear about your case.
If you have a pending DUI case in Mesa, please call our offices at (602) 307-0808 to schedule a free consultation. You can also use our secure form to send us an email. The consultation will take about 30 minutes and we’ll ask you questions specific to your case. One of our DUI lawyers is on-call 24 hours a day to take your call should you be pulled over, or in a DUI sting, we’ll help, call us at (602) 307-0808.